Mpumalanga joins KwaZulu Natal, Swaziland, Mozambique, Seychelles as as 5th member of East3Route

A ministers meeting of the East3Route Group that was held in Durban on the sidelines of the INDABA 2016 Tourism Trade Fair saw the Mpumalanga Province of South Africa admitted as the fifth member of the East3Route Grouping.

The East3Route was initially a tourism promotional and development program set up by KwaZulu Natal of South Africa, the Kingdom of Swaziland and Mozambique with the blessing of President Nelson Mandela, the King of Swaziland and the President of Mozambique.

The Seychelles saw the benefit of this togetherness approach and sought to be admitted to the grouping and has since become the fourth member.

At the meeting in Durban South Africa were minister Michael Mabuyakhulu, the MEC for economic development, tourism & economic affairs of KwaZulu Natal South Africa, minister Jabulani Clement Mabuza, the minister for tourism & environmental affairs of the Kingdom of Swaziland, minister Alain St.Ange, the minister for tourism and culture of the Seychelles, High Commissioner Paulino Jose Macaringue representing the minister of tourism of Mozambique and minister Sikhumbuzo Eric Kholwane, the MEC for finance, economic development and tourism of Mpumalanga Province of South Africa.

The ministers discussed the successes of the East3Route programs undertaken last year and also discussed the legacy program where go ahead was now given to construct the arts kiosks in Swaziland and Mozambique and opened discussions for the extension of that project to Seychelles.
A report on the Seychelles meeting of August last year when the business community form KwaZulu Natal, Swaziland and Mozambique accompanied by a large contingent of press flew to Seychelles in what was seen as a successful event.
The 2015 road-show was also discussed and the report reviewed.
The big event was also seen as a total success.
The October 2016 road-show was also approved and it will start in Mozambique on the 22 October to coincide with the business partners meeting before moving to Swaziland before entering South Africa’s Mpumalanga and KwaZulu Natal provinces.
The big decision of this 2016 meeting of ministers was the adoption of the resolution to accept Mpumalanga Province of South Africa as its 5th member. Even though the grouping will remain known as the East3Route it will now have five members namely KwaZulu Natal of South Africa, the Kingdom of Swaziland, Mozambique, Seychelles and Mpamalanga of South Africa.
A following ministerial meeting is expected to be held in June in Johannesburg.

Related posts