Tambuwal to chair African Travel Awards, Dinner at Akwaaba

The Executive Governor of Sokoto State and former Speaker of House of Representative, Rt Honorable Aminu Tambuwal will be chairing the 2015 African Travel Awards and Dinner at the Akwaaba African Travel Market in Lagos on the 22nd Nov.

The African Travel awards is one of the high points of the 3day Travel event which comes up on the 1st day of the event from 7pm at Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos.

Governor Tambuwal would be accompanied by the Commissioner of Commerce, Industries and Tourism, Sokoto State- Alhaji. Aminu Bello.

As repeat exhibitors at Akwaaba, Sokoto state would be showcasing her rich Tourism Products to both international and local audience which is what Akwaaba as a platform offers.

Some of the Awards to be presented at the event include Best Hotel in Africa, Airline of the Year-Africa, Best Resort in Africa, Africa most friendly City, and Best Airport in Africa, with Waturi Wa Matu presented with the African Legend Award for her role in promoting Tourism in East-Africa.
This is just as the enlarged committee of the Africa Travel Awards have completed their nominations of Airlines, Hotels and Destinations for this year’s award.  
The Pan African committee made up of Tourism professionals from all over Africa usually nominates candidates for the award categories and the shortlist is now presented to the public for online voting.  After the public vote the committee members will now ratify the results before it is published.

The promoters of the award explained that Africa Travel Awards is an African initiative to celebrate pioneers and exceptional providers of quality service in Africa.
The uniqueness of the awards which is in its 5th year is that the committee is completely African in composition and the choices are about Africa.

Past Recipients of the Award include former President of Gambia, Sir Dawda Jawara, Dr Danny Jordaan, the chief executive officer of South Africa world Cup LOC, Capt Irene Mutungi, the first lady Airline Captain in Africa, Capt Desta Zeru the first African to captain a B787, Capt Chinyere Kalu, first female Pilot in Nigeria and a host of other pioneers in Africa.
Membership of the Award committee is drawn from over 15 African countries. The new committee members include Siphelele Luthuli from South Africa, Khomotso Kelsall from South Africa, Fifi Rurungwa from Rwanda, Olanma Ojukwu from Benin Republic, Waturi Wa Matu from Kenya, Nancy Sam from Ghana, Chiquita Johnson from Liberia.
They are joining other active members like Chief Chika Onyeani, New York based Publisher of African Times, Sheikh Tejan Nyang of Gambia, Ali Diouf of Senegal, Denis Gathanju of Kenya,  Monique Swart South Africa based promoter of ABTA,  Gordon Adoboe from Ghana, Samuel Doe from Ghana, Atlanta based Senegalese Promoter Ogo Sow, Janjay F. Campbell from liberia, Mrs. Tinuke Nwakohu from Nigeria, Consiga Khiga of Kenya, Adefunke Adeyemi, IATA representative for Middle-East & Africa,Yunus Saliu from the Gambia,Yvette smith Cole from Sierra-leone, Patricia Ellis from Zambia,Samuel Doe from Ghana. Aly Diouf-Senegal.

Related posts